Duke of Edinburgh’s Awards

On Wednesday 19th February a number of Kirkintilloch High School’s S4 pupils received their Duke of Edinburgh’s Award (Bronze). Sixteen pupils received Bronze Award badges and certificates at the EDC ceremony held at Bishopbriggs Academy. This was a special DofE celebration for Kirkintilloch High School as it is the first time that the Award has been presented to the school and this group are our first successful Bronze cohort.

The group received the Award for working on 4 module sections including volunteering in their local community, working on a skill and a physical activity/sport and completing a gruelling 20 mile walk around the Isle of Bute in full kit and with just a map, route card and compass to get them to their destination. They then rough camped for the night before trekking back to Rothesay.
The ceremony was very well attended by the KHS Bronze recipients and many parents and family members were in attendance to applaud the Bronze group’s success. Award leaders, Principal Teacher Martin Shaw and Mathematics Teacher Claire Taylor, were there to see their charges’ success and both commented on their sense of pride for the pupils on completing this, at times, arduous and challenging task.
The completed Bronze Awards have inspired a surge of interest in this year’s S3 with over 30 pupils signed up to it currently.
The successful KHS Bronze Award group was made up of the following pupils:
Emily Brown
Jemma Creamer
Nicole Cruikshank
Andrew Gray
Ross Hopkins
Ross Lindores
Katie McGavin
Gary McInally
Greg Milburn
Nicola Ross
Niki Smith
Amy Stewart
Laura Tennent
Samantha Williamson
Amy Wilson
Andrew Wilson