K'Nex Young Engineer Cluster Challenge

On Thursday, 12th March, Kirkintilloch High cluster held the K’Nex Young Engineer Cluster Challenge. Cluster primary schools had in the previous weeks completed classroom challenges and the top two teams from each school were invited to Kirkintilloch High School for the Cluster Challenge. Teams were given 1 hour to demonstrate their ingenuity, problem solving and teamwork in order to successfully complete an engineering challenge. The competition was fierce but fair, with the judges finally agreeing that the winning team of Callum Armstrong and Declan Higgins of Hillhead Primary School, just beating Paige McGonigle and Emma Scott from Harestanes Primary School into a very close second place. For the remainder of the day, all challenge finalists had the opportunity to take part in different fun experiments and also watch demonstrations of more advanced experiments.

The challenge finalists from each primary school were:

Gartconner PS:

Blair Mosher & Shaun Sullivan

Greig McKissack, Scott Wright & Robbie Waugh

Harestanes PS:

Paige McGonigle & Emma Scott

Aiden MacDonald & Jon Meharry

Hillhead PS:

Callum Armstrong & Declan Higgins

Aiden Lewis & Cameron Loney

Oxgang PS:

Louise Campbell & Josh Muir

Lucy Faud & Kyle Henderson

Twechar PS:

Jamie Black & Mackenzie Naylor

Owen Devlin & Ben Hopkins