Higher Physics

Higher Physics is a 1 year course offered to students entering S5 or S6.

The course is divided into 3 units:
  • Mechanics & Properties of Matter
  • Electricity & Electronics
  • Radiation & Matter
Entry Requirements
This course is suitable for those who have gained a minimum of:-
‘2:2’ Credit Award in Standard Grade Physics or
‘A’ or ‘B’ grade in Intermediate 2 Physics or
‘C’ pass in Higher Biology or Chemistry or Computing or Mathematics.
A Credit pass in Standard Grade Mathematics or pass at Intermediate 2 Mathematics is strongly recommended.
Each unit is assessed by an End of Unit Assessment (NAB) which must be completed to achieve a final award. One practical assessment is also required to complete the internal element of this course. A final SQA exam is undertaken at the end of the course.
Throughout the course, pupils will be continually assessed and progress monitored, with regular feedback from their teachers on their progress and targets set.

Higher Physics is a useful qualification for students wishing to enter University or College. While it is recognised by all disciplines, it is especially useful and may even be compulsory in the fields in medicine, science, technology or engineering.
Students who have achieved a pass at Higher in S5 may wish to continue their studies in Physics by undertaking Advanced Higher Physics in S6.